Utah CCIM Chapter Honors Commercial Real Estate Professionals at 2018 Excellence Awards Event

March 5, 2018
Salt Lake City, UT–March 5, 2018–The Utah Chapter of CCIM honored 41 finalists in 17 award categories and recognized 13 projects at its 2018 Excellence Awards event. Held at the Grand America Hotel on Saturday, March 3rd, the annual awards program honored professionals within Utah’s commercial real estate industry who exemplify the highest degree of business excellence, as well as highlighted some of the year’s most notable projects and transactions. This year’s theme was “Time for Tech.”To determine each award recipient, ballots containing three finalists in each category were distributed to a panel of over one hundred business, civic, and industry leaders for final review and vote. In addition to the 17 award winners, four scholarships—funded jointly by Price Real Estate and the Utah CCIM Chapter—were awarded to students at the University of Utah.

Ronda Landa, CCIM Utah Excellence Awards Chair, commented, “The foundation of CCIM is to educate the commercial real estate professional; it is through education that we elevate ourselves personally and professionally. It is an honor to be involved in such an esteemed event that is dedicated to recognizing the phenomenal work that these professionals accomplish throughout the year. The collective economic impact that this group has on the Utah marketplace is incredible and I commend all those who were both nominated and awarded this evening.”

2018 Excellence Award Winners:

Hall of Fame
Jim Sorenson
Sorenson Associates
Architectural Firm of the Year
Jay Taggart
Curtis Miner Architecture
Commercial Real Estate Banker of the Year (Over $75 Million)
Flyn Dawson
Zions Bank
Community Banker of the Year (Under $75 Million)
Kelly Hale
Bank of Utah
Mortgage Broker of the Year
Johnny Clawson
The Clawson Group
Industrial Broker of the Year
Jeff Richards
Investment Broker of the Year
Kip Paul
Cushman & Wakefield Commerce
Multifamily Broker of the Year
Danny Shin
Marcus & Millichap
Office Broker of the Year
Brandon Fugal
CBC Advisors
Property Manager of the Year
Felicity Hatton-Ward
CBC Advisors
Real Estate Attorney of the Year
Carl Barton
Holland & Hart, LLP
Retail Broker of the Year
Stuart Thain
CBC Advisors
Rookie of the Year
Josh Smith
CBC Advisors
Specialty Broker of the Year
Vic Galanis
CCIM of the Year
Brandon Duke
KeyBank Capital
Price-CCIM Scholarship
Ashley Atkinson
Ashley Hadfield
Austin Adkin
Christian Graf
2018 CCIM Technology Award
Barbara Crane
CCIM President-elect
2018 Contractor of the Year
Rob Moore
Big-D Construction
Top Industrial Lease: Ogden Home Depot
Tom Dischmann, Jeff Richards, Rad Dye
Top Industrial Sale: Connor Sport Court Project
Kyle Roberts, Jeff Heaton
Newmark Grub ACRES
Top Office Lease: CHG Healthcare
Dana Baird, Mike Richmond/Paul Skene, Paul Andersen
Cushman & Wakefield/CRESA
Top Office Sale: CenturyLink Building
Kip Paul, Chris Kirk
Cushman & Wakefield
Top Retail Lease: The Crossroads at Taylorsville/Regal Cinema
Richard Coles, Richard Robins, Tony Coop, Lori Coburn
CBC Advisors
Top Retail Sale Award: Red Cliffs Mall
Bryce Blanchard
Newmark Grub ACRES
Top Multifamily Sale: Cobblegate Apartments
Danny Shin, Brock Zylstra/Mike Minnick
Marcus & Millichap/ Independent Broker
Top Investment Award: Timpanogos Tech Center
Craig Thomas
Three Developments of the Year
4th West Apartments
SOJO Station
Hale Center Theatre at MACU Performing Arts Center
Two Re-developments of the Year
University Place
Vivint Smart Home Arena

The Utah CCIM Chapter created the Utah CCIM Excellence Awards, now the premier gathering of business leaders in Utah, to recognize the accomplishments of outstanding men and women who exemplify the highest degree of business excellence in the commercial real estate industry. The CCIM designation, or Certified Commercial Investment Member, is a premier commercial real estate certification that requires 100+ hours of training and considerable investment. Learn more at utahccimchapter.com.